The National Anaesthesiologists Societies Committee (NASC) and the Education and Training Committee are calling for applications for the Young Teaching Recognition Award.

The purpose of this award is to acknowledge and encourage individuals with outstanding and innovative teaching skills who will have an impact on the dissemination of knowledge and competencies.

The winning presentations may be developed into an ESA e-learning module.

Two prizes will be awarded. Presentations should address the specific annual topic.

  1. Anaesthesia
    Patient Blood Management, Pediatric, Regional Anaesthesia, Patient Safety
  2. Intensive Care, Perioperative Medicine and Pain Medicine
    Coagulation, multimorbidity, acute pain management, sepsis

Application deadline: 15 March 2019

The Selection Process

  • Applicants should be a trainee or within the first year of specialisation. Associate Professors or equivalent are not eligible to apply.
  • Applicants should be members of their National Society and of the European Society of Anaesthesiology (ESA)
  • Applicants must be working in Europe.
  • Applicants must submit the application form, their Curriculum Vitae, and an outline of their lecture (max. 300 words)  by 15 March 2019.

Please provide more details in your personal statement of 300 words as a maximum.

All complete applications will be reviewed by a panel consisting of the chairs of the eLearning Committee, Education and Training Committee, NASC and Trainee Committee.

Each application will be scored on:

  1. Content: novelty
  2. Educational sustainability: impact on future knowledge or performance
  3. Potential use for ESA e-learning module
  4. Involvement into local/national teaching and training

The Award Judging Process

The Young Teaching Recognition Award Competition is held during the Euroanaesthesia Congress in Vienna.

Two Award Finalists from each topic (Anaesthesia / Intensive Care & Co) are invited to give a 10-minute lecture, followed by a 10-minute discussion with the auditorium and the panel of experts.

  • A panel of 4 experts and peers attending the session vote for the Award Winners at the end of the session.
  • Award Finalists receive free registration to Euroanaesthesia 2019 and travel reimbursement according to the ESA reimbursement policy (600 EUR).
  • Award Winners will be invited to give a full lecture at Euroanaesthesia 2020 within the appropriate learning track.
  • Award Winners receive a 2-year ESA membership.

For further information please contact: